Losurdo Wins Rain-Shortened SBS Main, Burke Dominates in First 350 Super Win at Oswego

Oswego’s Anthony Losurdo brought home his ninth-career win in the SBS division on Saturday night at the Oswego Speedway. Losurdo would make his way around early race leader, Greg O’Connor and cruise until the arrival of rain showers shortened the 25-lap event to just 13 laps. It was the defending track champion’s second straight win aboard the Mark Castiglia-owned No. 1 FFB Racing Chassis.

O’Connor and Russ Bartlett led the field to the green to start the SBS feature event. O’Connor would grab the early lead, bringing Cameron Rowe, David LaTulip, Mike Bruce and Brad Haynes would fill out the top five as the field completed its maiden lap. However, before the second lap could be run, Josh Sokolic and Tony Pisa would tangle on the front stretch. Sokolic was able to drive away while Pisa exited via the hook.

The double-file restart saw LaTulip move into second place while teammate, Anthony Losurdo, raced his No. 1 into third. LaTulip and Losurdo were quick to attach themselves to O’Connor’s rear bumper. Not wanting to wait for his teammate, Losurdo took to the high side of LaTulip’s No. 27 on the fifth lap. The duo would do battle for a full trip until Losurdo’s No. 1 prevailed.

Not letting up, Losurdo then drove under O’Connor for the lead on the seventh lap. LaTulip and Bruce would follow, moving into second and third place respectively.

While Losurdo began inching away, David Cliff continued to make his way towards the front, moving under the Haynes No. 88 for fifth on the 10th lap. Cliff would take over fourth place from O’Connor on the 13th lap, but that would be as far as he’d be able to go.

The rain showers arrived and the caution flag would fly. Once the track had lost its heat and Mother Nature had taken hold, the call was made to make the race official. Losurdo would earn his second checkered flag in as many weeks.

Listen to – Anthony Losurdo


Prior to the SBS main event, Derry, New Hampshire’s John Burke pocketed his first win at the lakeside oval in the new 350 supermodified class. Burk would lead all 20 laps of the the two-race old division’s main event to earn the win. Vern LaFave, Anthony Losurdo and Barry Kingsley would round out the four-car finishing order.

Pathfinder Bank SBS 25 (shortened to 13): 1. Anthony Losurdo (1), 2. Dave LaTulip (27), 3. Mike Bruce (04), 4. Dave Cliff (50), 5. Greg O’Connor (90), 6. Brad Haynes (88), 7. Cameron Rowe (77), 8. Russ Bartlett (02), 9. Josh Sokolic (26), 10. Travis Bartlett (03), 11. Tony Pisa (89)

350 Supermodified 30: 1. John Burke (01), 2. Vern LaFave (97), 3. Anthony Losurdo (1), 4. Barry Kingsley (06)

Heat race wins were pocketed by Bruce and LaTulip in the SBS division and LaFave in the 350 supers.

Mike Bruce (04) slips under Greg O'Connor (90). Bruce would finish in second place, O'Connor in fifth - Photo: Jim Feeney
Coming back after a heat race accident, Dave Cliff (50) recovered for a fourth-place feature finish - Photo: Jim Feeney
Greg O'Connor (90) and Cameron Rowe (77) race between turns one and two. O'Connor finished fifth, Rowe was seventh - Photo: Jim Feeney
Under the raindrops that shortened the race, Anthony Losurdo and crew pose in victory lane - Photo: Jim Feeney
350 supermodified winner, John Burke - Photo: Jim Feeney

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *